My Mind Is Tellin’ Me No, But My Body’s Tellin’ Me Yes

Yesterday I was doing some research on “fitspo” instagrams, Whole30, and anything else that would get me psyched for my evening workout. It worked! I was jazzed and couldn’t wait to get my sneakers to the pavement. 

giphy

Then traffic. It typically takes me 30-45mins to get home, but yesterday it took me 2 hours. RAGE. So much rage. Also, traffic makes me sleepy and want to eat junk food and watch Netflix. 

office-space-o

Then my thoughtful fiancé offered to buy Chinese food or wine or anything my heart desired to make up for the shitty travel experience. Which would be awesome any other time, except I’m trying to be healthy and Chinese food isn’t “clean.” 

giphy

Then by the time I got home it was too dark to go for a run. I like to have enough time to run out and back while it’s still light out due to safety reasons. I’m sure I could kick anyone’s ass who tried something funny, that’s not the point. “Really I’m worried for anyone who tried to get in my way,” she thought, sarcastically. 

giphy-1

Then there was internet connectivity problems in my (what felt like 90 degree) room, so my “Own It” Spotify playlist kept cutting out during my workout.  

giphy

But you know what? I did it. I did a TABATA workout with pushups, skull crushers, weighted shadow boxing, squats, calf raises, donkey kicks, weighted side crunches, bicycle crunches, regular crunches, and planks. I did every single one of my planks! My point is, there are days when it will seem like everything is against you. Anything that could go wrong, will. It will be 90 degrees in your room. But with every skip of your music you can push yourself harder, squat deeper, finish those damn planks. And it will make you feel better, trust me! 

giphy-1

2 thoughts on “My Mind Is Tellin’ Me No, But My Body’s Tellin’ Me Yes

Leave a comment