Checking In: This Feels Oddly Familiar…

It has been one week since I started this blog in attempt to turn this life around. So far so good, I suppose…? To be totally honest, this past week was more or less simple and boring, as well as very deja vu. You see, this isn’t my first rodeo with a fitness kick, and they always tend to go the same way. 

giphy

Since I am generally a healthy person (I value getting in my workouts and eating a vegetarian diet), I always start at about a +1 or so from average. Not to mention that I am a tall human, making it easy to gain a few without being able to tell, thus making it even easier for me to make excuses toward laziness and pizza. 

giphy-1

And so, making a change like this week-long clean eating challenge doesn’t feel terribly different. I don’t feel less tired, I don’t look or feel less bloated, and my skin doesn’t look any less pimply. Yet. The familiar part of this past week is the impending relapse I sense. My bloat and zits haven’t gone, but I have to remember that these issues haven’t had a chance to change.

FACT that I just Googled: It takes about 30 days for skin cells to regenerate.

This week I am going to do the 7 Day Clean Eating Challenge again. And then I’ll do it again, and again. And then I’ll do the Whole Life Challenge, which is 8 weeks. Then back to weekly. One week of change really won’t do anything for me, but many all strung together as a full lifestyle overhaul, THAT is when I’ll start seeing my efforts. And THAT is what I’m telling myself this morning as I crave pancakes and reflect on the change I’m not seeing. 

Meh.

Meh. This is me waiting for my six pack to arrive. 

Keep kickin’ ass, party people!

Yeah, get used to motivational quote images.

Yeah, get used to motivational quote images.

Leave a Reply

